Why Nepali Calendar Different and Ahead by 57 Years: History

The Nepali Calendar is based on the actual movements of the sun and moon in the sky. It’s also known as Bikram Sambat, or Common Era Nepali Calendar, and is officially adopted by Nepal Government. The Nepali calendar is approximately 56 years and 8.5 months ahead of the English calendar which is known as the Gregorian calendar or AD. In Nepal, this is called a Nepali Patro. In this article, we will explore the reasons why the Nepali calendar is different and ahead by 57 years. In Nepal, this is called a Nepali Patro. In this article, exactly we will know Nepal’s year system, why is Nepal 57 years ahead, and why Nepal has a different Date and year.

The Bikram Sambat calendar follows a lunar system, with each month beginning with the new moon. Just like the rest of the World, except Ethiopia, Nepal has 365 days and 12 months each year. But the length of the months is different from 29 to 32 days.

Nepal Calendar

Nepal calendar in Nepali

History of Nepali Calendar Origin

The Nepalese calendar is also known as the Bikram Sambat calendar. It is believed that the calendar originated in the 11th century. It was named after King Vikramaditya. Vikramaditya was a great Hindu king who ruled over a large part of India. This calendar was adopted as the official calendar of Nepal in 1960.

Why is Nepal’s Year Different?

It is believed that the calendar have been introduced by the Hindu King Bikramaditya in 57 BC. Since then It is the official calendar for governmental and civil activities in Nepal. This calendar is 56 years and 8.5 months ahead of the Gregorian calendar. Now it is the internationally recognized civil calendar. If it is the year 2023 in the Gregorian calendar, then it is the year 2080 in the Nepali calendar.

King Vikramaditya

The Bikram Sambat calendar is based on the movement of the moon, with each month beginning with the new moon. The year consists of 12 months, with each month having 29 or 30 days. The calendar also includes several special days that are not part of any month. The new year in the Bikram Sambat calendar begins in April, and the months are named after various Hindu deities and festivals.

Nepal Date and Time Now

What time is it in Nepali? Check today’s live Nepal Date and Time now. You can see exact what year is it in Nepal.

Convert Nepali to English Date

Why is Nepali Calendar Ahead

Why is Nepali calendar ahead and different

Nepali Calendar ahead forms the rest of the calendars in the world. Nepal has a different Calendar called Vikram Sambat (BS). The calendar of Nepal is now more than half a century ahead of the rest of the World.

Under Vikram Samvat, the country is now more than half a century ahead of the rest of the World. Thus, Nepal and its citizens celebrated the dawn of the twenty-first century in splendid isolation. This auspicious event took place in April 1943 at a time. When the country’s borders were still sealed, and the rest of the World – including some brave Gurkhas – was at war.

It has other new year days based on the solar calendar. Two on the lunar calendar and one on the Christian Gregorian calendar. The Vikram Samvat official calendar was used for administration and all Nepalis followed based on a lunar-solar system of reckoning

The Starting Point of the Nepali Calendar

The Nepali calendar starts counting years from the date of the coronation of King Vikramaditya in 57 BC. This means that the year 1 in the Nepali calendar is equivalent to the year 57 BC in the Gregorian calendar. This starting point is different from the Gregorian calendar. It starts counting the years from the birth of Jesus Christ.

What calendar does Nepal use?

Bikram Sambat Nepal Calendar

In Nepal, the Bikram Sambat calendar is used for traditional and cultural events, such as festivals and religious observances. It is also used for legal and official purposes, including government documents and civil contracts. Despite the use of the Bikram Sambat calendar in Nepal, many people in the country also use the Gregorian calendar for personal and practical purposes, such as scheduling and travel.

The second most popular of Nepal’s calendars – It is no doubt many professional astrologers use the Nepali calendar. The Shakya Samvat also follows a lunar-solar system of calculation, but, it can be confusing. This calendar date back to the accession of an ancient king, Salivahan.

Nepal’s first century began at the start of the Vikram era, the date on which King Vikramaditya of India defeated Saka in 57 BC. That was when the Nepali calendar Vikram Samvat began.

The Significance of the Nepali Calendar

The Nepali calendar is part of the cultural and religious identity of Nepali people. It determines auspicious dates for festivals, weddings, and other important events. It is also used in astrology and horoscopes. It is particularly significant for the Newar community, an indigenous group of people living in the Kathmandu Valley, who have their own unique Newari calendar.

Who invented Nepali Calendar?

Bikram Sambat is a calendar that was first circulated in Nepal under orthodox Hindu rules and laws but wasn’t adopted as the official calendar until much later on during the rule of the Rana dynasty back in 1901 AD. Thus, this particular calendar lags behind our current Gregorian calendar by 56 or 57 years depending on the specific version you’re looking at (some are slightly older).

The Challenges of Using the Nepali Calendar

Despite its cultural and historical significance, the Nepali calendar faces several challenges in modern times. There are many different ways to calculate dates in the Nepali calendar. This can lead to confusion and inconsistencies. Another challenge is the difficulty of converting dates between the Nepali calendar and the Gregorian calendar. Especially for those who are not familiar with the Nepal calendar system.

The seven days of Nepal

The seven days of the Nepal week are named after the planets –

S.N.7 Days of Nepal weekDays Name in Nepali
1Sun dayAityabar आइतबार
2Moon daySomabar सोमबार
3Mars Day (Tuesday)Mangalabar मंगलबार
4Mercury Day (Wednesday)Budhabar बुधबार
5Jupiter Day (Thursday) or Day of the LordBrihaspatibar (Bihibar) बिहीबार
6Venus Day (Friday)Sukrabar शुक्रबार
7Saturn Day (Saturday)Shanisharbar (Shanibar) शनिबार

The twelve-month of Nepal

12 month name in Nepali (Nepali calendar Months name)

S.N.Month in NepalMonth in English
1Baisakh बैसाखApril-May
2Jesth जेठMay-Jun
3Asar असारJun-July
4Shrawan श्रावण or साउनJuly-August
5Bhadra भाद्र or भादौAugust-September
6Asoj असोजSeptember-October
7Kartik कार्तिकOctober-November
8Mangsir मंगसिरNovember-December
9Pus पूसDecember-January
10Magh माघJanuary-February
11Falgun फाल्गुन or फागुनFebruary-March
12Chaitra चैत्रMarch-April


The Nepali calendar is a unique and fascinating timekeeping system that is different and ahead by 57 years of history from the Gregorian calendar. Nepali Calendar has a rich cultural heritage. It is an integral part of the Nepalese way of life. While it may seem confusing or challenging to those unfamiliar with its intricacies, understanding the Nepali calendar can provide a deeper appreciation of Nepalese culture and history.


Leave a Comment