The Traditional Architecture of Nepal

The traditional architecture of Nepal – For most of the last millennium the compact valley of Kathmandu Nepal. It has been home to three kingdoms are Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, and Patan. They were known in the Malla era, Kantipur, Bhadgaon, and Lalitpur.

The rivalry between the three, no more than a day’s march from each other, has bestowed the valley with a remarkable architectural legacy.

Traditional architecture of Nepal

Traditional Architecture of Nepal

To fully appreciate the dizzying scale and painstaking details of the Dubar squares of Kathmandu, Bhaktapur, and Patan. You will have to spend at least a day in each.

The design of the Newar palaces is based on the same principles walls enclosing a central courtyard. But in the case of the palaces the architectural design palaces, the architectural design pales in comparison with the carvings that decorate them.

Nepal architectural legacy before earthquakes

Vernacular architecture

Scattered through the streets and squares of the Newar cities are a multitude of Hindu pagoda temples. It is argued here that local artistic expression is at its most eloquent.

The pagoda, like the mandala, is a three-dimensional representation of the universe. Like the crowded mandala thangkas, you see for sale in around the squares. The surfaces of the pagoda are a mass of carved detail of deities and demons, sometimes erotica.

See the Nyatapola pagoda in Bhaktapur, one of the valley’s few five-storied pagodas (most are three-storied), for the happy convergence of all that is best in Newar architectural design.

Leave a Comment